Interrogations at Noon

By Dana Gioia

“He is well on the way to becoming a classic poet.”

– Ray Olson, Booklist

“Interrogations at Noon is Gioia’s third book of poetry and it is achingly good.”

—Susan Balée, The Philadelphia Inquirer

“[This book] is unlike anything produced by anyone else in America. Sicilian, Mexican and Native American in his ancestry, Gioia writes out of a “dark” Catholic Sensibility — a sensibility which sees “the end of the world” in every sensuous detail around him.”

— Jack Foley, Italian Americana

Interrogations at Noon received the American Book Award, which was presented to Dana Gioia on May 3, 2002, in New York. Gundars Strads presented the award with the following remark:

Dana Gioia’s name has come to be associated with the poets known as New Formalists—a term that might sound odd here. But what it really means is that Gioia concerns himself with every aspect of his craft: its traditions, its movements towards and away from rhyme and meter, and its ancient roots in the sound of the human voice. That his voicing of these concerns has put him at the center of several literary controversies may say more about the current state of poetry than about Gioia himself, but that is another matter. Gioia is clearly a poet whose words are heard, whose positions ignite debate, whose work constantly and unflinchingly searches out new ways to counter what he calls “our sentimental, upbeat age.” For that, and specifically for his latest work, Interrogations at Noon, he richly deserves, and today receives this award.

Dana Gioia and Al Young
With poet Al Young at the American Book Awards.

About the American Book Award (from the Before Columbus Foundation):

America was intended to be a place where freedom from discrimination was the means by which equality was achieved. Today, American culture is the most diverse ever on the face of this earth. Recognizing literary excellence demands a panoramic perspective. A narrow view strictly to the mainstream ignores all the tributaries that feed it. American literature is not one tradition but all traditions. From those who have been here for thousands of years to the most recent immigrants, we are all contributing to American culture. We are all being translated into a new language. Everyone should know by now that Columbus did not “discover” America. Rather, we are all still discovering America—and we must continue to do so.

The Before Columbus Foundation was founded in 1976 as a nonprofit educational and service organization dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of contemporary American multicultural literature. The goals of BCF are to provide recognition and a wider audience for the wealth of cultural and ethnic diversity that constitutes American writing. BCF has always employed the term “multicultural” not as a description of an aspect of American literature, but as a definition of all American literature. BCF believes that the ingredients of America’s so-called “melting pot” are not only distinct, but integral to the unique constitution of American Culture—the whole comprises the parts.

In 1978, the Board of Directors of BCF (authors, editors, and publishers representing the multicultural diversity of American Literature) decided that one of its programs should be a book award that would, for the first time, respect and honor excellence in American literature without restriction or bias with regard to race, sex, creed, cultural origin, size of press or ad budget, or even genre. There would be no requirements, restrictions, limitations, or second places. There would be no categories (i.e., no “best” novel or only one “best” of anything). The winners would not be selected by any set quota for diversity (nor would “mainstream white anglo male” authors to be excluded), because diversity happens naturally. Finally, there would be no losers, only winners. The only criteria would be outstanding contribution to American literature in the opinion of the judges.

All winners are accorded equal standing. Their publishers are also to be honored for both their commitment to quality and their willingness to take the risks that accompany publishing outstanding books and authors that may not prove “cost-effective” in the short run. There are special Award designations (such as Lifetime Achievement) for contributions to American literature beyond a recently published book. The American Book Awards Program is not associated with any industry group or trade organization. The American Book Awards offer no cash prize nor do they require any financial commitments from the authors or their publishers. The Award winners are nominated and selected by a panel of writers, editors, and publishers who also represent the diversity of American literary culture.